‘Are You Interesting?’ – Painting on Paper Towels

‘Village People’ ©Ken Delmar

Here’s a charming addition to my recent collection of posts featuring paper artistry.

In this short film, artist Ken Delmar reflects on his life in the shadow of his father, Kenny Delmar, a famous 1950s stage and radio performer.

Ken discusses how the development of his preferred approach to painting was ‘accidental’.  The brush marks and blots on the paper towels he was using turned out to be more interesting and vibrant than his more traditional work.

This appeals to me because I can remember colouring in the patterns on paper towels with my felt-tipped pens when I was a girl.

I find it so touching to hear him ask ‘did I have anything to do with the fact of this happening?’.  I love that he was open to a new idea and embraced it without any particular reason.

“When I forgot about trying to succeed as an artist, when I just started to paint on what I wanted to paint on, just for fun, suddenly new and different things started happening.”

Is this not the essence of creativity?  Having fun and going with the flow?  We might also see this as a metaphor for life:  do what you love most and much good can come of it. 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “‘Are You Interesting?’ – Painting on Paper Towels

  1. Now, that’s a medium that’s new to me! Or a canvas, I guess I should say. How interesting . . . but quick to decay, too, I suppose.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good point – although perhaps it can be protected behind glass – who knows. Sometimes the ephemeral nature of a work of art can be part of its appeal.

      Like

  2. Interesting, you always find such interesting things. Who would have thought what you can do with paper towels….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ute and yes, who would have thought indeed! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this one!!! Have shared it on Facebook!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much – I always really appreciate your kind and generous support xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I found this so refreshing, Liz. Not just your premise that we should just ‘go with the flow’ and see where that takes us but also the use of paper towels and their impermanence. So much of art is associated with value and the artist’s name. I like it that some artists are able to create something and then leave it and go on to the next project. I’m thinking of Andy Goldsworthy and Banksy and the like.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Such good points, Clare, as ever. I completely agree with you about the way in which an artist’s transient approach can add an extra dimension to their work.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close