A Fishy Tale (or is it?….)

A snapper of a story for you all today.  One that cod put a smile on your face.  I certainly haddock good laugh with it.

This is a film-maker Charlie Lyne’s attempt to plaice on record the truth about the historic opening of a Welsh ‘marina’.  To quote the film’s blurb:

“Sometime in the 1980s, Caspar Salmon’s grandmother was invited to a gathering on the Welsh island of Anglesey, attended exclusively by people with fish surnames. Or so he says. Thirty years later, filmmaker Charlie Lyne attempts to sort myth from reality as he searches for the truth behind this fishy tale.”

Apart from being a wonderfully nostalgic look at British life 40 years ago, it is a charming and amusing john-dory.

I hake you like it as mullet I did! 😃🐡🐠🐟

 

 

17 thoughts on “A Fishy Tale (or is it?….)

  1. Indeed a moule et frites of a film. Pity Michael Fish did not remember the plaice!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Interesting….. the 80’s seem so long ago, yet still not though. I came in the 80’s to London….. Definitively remember Michael Fish!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It looks like another era, way back, doesn’t it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It sort of was…. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Dave thought your blog was Brill!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A great narrative!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s a whale of a tale. If I were a fishy person I would be wary about getting too close to W(h)ales.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol – love that! 😂🐳🐳🐳

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I love those little whales. I told the story to my daughter. We laughed and laughed and then went looking for fish names in our phone book. We found lots of Herrings. My daughter said I hope they are not called Red. Then I saw that most of the Herrings had the initial R………so who knows????????

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is so fabulous! 😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. An amazing story! I love your puns! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love the puns, although I had to admit defeat when finding how to get Humuhumunukunukuāpuaʻa into a sentence. The story is bizarre, it’s perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha – will have to work on that one!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close