Ah, beautiful Orkney: the irresistible pull of the Scottish Isles

A view of the Orkney Isles from the beautiful walled garden of the Castle of Mey
A view of the Orkney Isles from the beautiful walled garden of the Castle of Mey

This week, Hub and I have been travelling North.  Having already visited Tain (north of Inverness) and Wick (south of John O’Groats), the final leg of our trip has taken us across the Pentland Firth to the breathtaking Orkney Islands.

I have written before about the feeling one gets when on a Scottish island.  As we left the mainland, I realised that I just had to re-post this wonderful video produced by Alistair Corbett, which, with the help of Rachel Field’s mesmerising poem ‘If Once You Have Slept On An Island’, celebrates our wonderful islands.

 

This footage was filmed on the Isles of Skye, St Kilda and Harris (Berneray and Luskentyre) which form part of the Inner and Outer Hebrides.  We’ll be visiting these island groups later this month, and then for the whole of September.  We are looking forward very much to those trips.  And how lovely, in the meantime, to kick-off this year’s island-hopping on magical Orkney. 🙂

 

16 thoughts on “Ah, beautiful Orkney: the irresistible pull of the Scottish Isles

  1. I very nearly got Richard to agree to going to the Scottish Isles this year but he chickened out and instead we go to Switzerland. Switzerland will be very nice indeed but I still want desperately to go to one or other or in fact ALL of the Isles! Enjoy the rest of your short holiday and the others later this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Switzerland will indeed be lovely, and the islands will all be here when you get back. If you want to visit them all, you have your work cut out – there are about 790 – better get started soon! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know! I’d have to spend a few years just touring from one to another! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I can think of worse ways to spend one’s time!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you’ll be writing more about Orkney and showing us photos. We’ve been talking about making this trip for a long time, along with the Outer Hebrides, and are hoping for next year. I’d love more info from your experience!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kerry – really hope you manage to make that trip finally! If you would like any help with planning etc, feel free to e-mail me at leapinglife101@gmail.com 🙂

      Like

      1. That’s lovely offer, Liz, and I’m sure I’ll take you up on it, when we finally get our acts together!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You are welcome – any time!

        Like

  3. Beautiful. Lush. Rainy. Moody. Historic. Steepled. Beautiful. Steely. Dreamy. Walkable. Sheepish. Breezy. Soft. Sullen. Sustainable. Vibrant. Memorable. Teary. These are all the words that came to mind when I read your post, and watched the videos. I lived in Scotland for 4 years. Loved it and all it has to share every moment. Although it’s a bit damp for me, I couldn’t think of a lovelier place to visit. The islands are wonderful extensions of the country itself. I miss the heather. I miss the energy. Thanks for sharing, it got me a little teary!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for this lyrical contribution, Jen – I really appreciate your thoughtful comments. 🙂

      Like

  4. Thank you for taking me with you to Orkney! Ah….I felt the sea air and heard the call of seagulls. Lovely.

    Like

  5. They are beautiful, I have visited some of them years ago … in the 80’s and I loved every bit. Enjoy the beauty!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh I have wanted to visit forever. I got as far as Oban years ago. I need to come back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You absolutely must come – surely you can squeeze a short detour into your busy travel schedule?!? 😀💕

      Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close