Be a Rainbow in Someone Else’s Cloud: The Timeless Wisdom of Dr Maya Angelou

 

 

“I’ve had a lot of clouds. But I have had so many rainbows”

~ Dr Maya Angelou

I know this applies to me, particularly at the moment.  As a woman of a certain age, life currently swings between highs and lows.  I should say that there are plenty of ‘in between’ times, when life is calm and peaceful.  But every now and then, something I have come to know as Melancholy sneaks up on me, dragging me down to its level.  Happily, I am rarely in the grip of Melancholy for very long – sometimes only a few hours.  But while I am there, it can be difficult to see life in any way other than utterly hopeless.

It is of great comfort to me, therefore, to listen to the powerful wisdom of Dr Maya Angelou, as she reflects on her view of life:

“I don’t ever feel I have no help.  I’ve had rainbows in my clouds”

I love Dr Maya’s view that all those people who have ever been kind to her can be called on by her when she feels she needs help and support.  These are her ‘rainbows’, which she can gather around her in times of need.  I like being reminded that I also have plenty of rainbows on whom I can call when need be.

In return, counsels Dr Maya, we should work to provide this kind of support to others:

“And the thing to do…is prepare yourself, so that you can be a rainbow in somebody else’s cloud.  Somebody who may not look like you;…may not eat the same dishes prepared the way you do; may not dance your dances or speak your language.  But be a blessing to somebody.”

So, next time you find yourself in a cloud, dwell not on its size, weight or density.  Rather, look through the fog to the myriad rainbows which sparkle there for you.  Think of yourself as your own rainbow too – switch any negative self-talk to a voice of kind, loving support.

And, of course, find a way to be someone else’s rainbow too. 😊🌈

 

14 thoughts on “Be a Rainbow in Someone Else’s Cloud: The Timeless Wisdom of Dr Maya Angelou

  1. You have always been a 🌈 rainbow in my life!!! Thank you dear friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Becky – the feeling is entirely mutual! Xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Maya too and read many quotes from her. She was amazing. Liz you are like a rainbow to many, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you Ute – I am glad to have your rainbow in my life too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You definitely do!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice post–and an important message from Angelou, and from you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A beautiful message, Liz!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lavinia. I appreciate your support 🙂

      Like

  5. Wonderful! I loved the video of Maya with her expressive face and voice. I thank-you Liz for being a rainbow and sharing your knowledge and experience despite having dark clouds of your own xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Clare. And I completely agree – I could watch & listen to her forever. 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wise words, it is amazing how many bloggers are the rainbow sort, we have a strong community here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it’s a remarkable body of mutual support.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close