“Paper has a great future”

 

Little did I know when I wrote my first paper-related post recently, that this would turn into some kind of mini-series.

I could not resist posting this old but amusing advert which celebrates the joy of all kinds of paper, and am indebted to my dear friend Liz W for sharing it in the first place.

I increasingly find myself resorting to ‘analogue’ options – preferring ‘real’ books over e-books and keeping a paper diary/bullet journal, for example.

Sure, our devices are great and I would not want to be without them. Β How else would I write this blog, after all?

But for me, the thought of a paperless world is as bleak as a world without colour #HaveMyCakeAndEatIt πŸ™‚

 

21 thoughts on ““Paper has a great future”

  1. I totally agree with you, I do love my real books. Great Emma, great response from her with the toiletpaper paper. The world just with tablets is unthinkable for me.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Aw thanks for the name check Liz! I agree too – what can beat the joy of an old recipe book, for example, spattered with little blobs of this and that, and stuffed with old postcards or letters to mark the place? The food may taste identical to the same recipe on a kindle but the journey is much more fun! Though my kindle is a beaut too. Especially when it comes to packing for a long weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, the simplest pleasures in life are often the best! Especially when we can also have convenience at our finger tips too, in the form of Kindles etc! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I am on a research to see how we can preserver originals – letters, photos, books. We are living in a time where space is limited, we want to embrace “green” to reduce our environmental footprint. As well, paper suffers from the ravages of time. I am going through my father’s photos, some of which date back to the early 1900’s. So, I welcome all suggestions and advice. BTW, I agree with Liz on the “little blobs and this and that.” Brings back so many great memories…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It is such a dilemma, isn’t it. I am trying to train myself to avoid automatically printing out papers for work etc unless absolutely necessary, but sometimes only a paper copy will do. I guess if we can be more mindful about our paper usage, that can only be a good thing. Your photo collection sounds wonderful. My suggestion is to scan in the ones you want to keep and create a ‘photo book’ with the images. Both Mum and we have done this with various projects, always to great effect. We use this site, and there must be plenty like it in Canada. Do let me know how you get on! πŸ™‚ xxx https://www.photobox.co.uk

      Like

      1. What a great idea – I’ll check it out! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hope it works! πŸ™‚ x

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I love my real paper books but I have to admit to writing my daily journal on my tablet, My achy hands would keep me from writing in any detail and, if I’m going to write the journal, I want the details in there!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Completely fair enough, Kerry – I think it’s great that we live in a world where we have all these brilliant options. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Great ad! I love paper things, too, and in particular good toilet paper. Some of the stuff we had to use back in the day may as well have been a tablet, it was so hard and uncomfortable. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol! I remember the hard crinkly toilet paper we used to have at school – not at all funny at the time & makes one glad for quality stuff these days!! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, I am sure it encouraged poor bowel habits. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh yes! That horrible hard toilet paper!
    I write a daily journal in a paper diary and much prefer reading proper books to e-books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Completely agree! I have an ‘analogue’ journal too. I have tried various writing/journalling apps, but there is nothing quite like writing in a beautiful notebook with a gorgeous pen! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Paper is the best, the texture and the smell are so integral to grounding us in certain past times. I love right notes in a real book as well, I am glad that we have technologies for blogging though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A thumbs up all round! πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. Oh, I love that ad – gave me a lovely chuckle! πŸ˜€

    I do keep my journal online – in a straightforward Word document. And I invariably write – type – letters online. In part for the convenience of being able to edit and because I consider my handwriting to be so poor. But although I use my Kindle a lot, nothing beats real books. And I love beautiful paper (so long as I don’t spoil it by writing on it!) I have a collection of notebooks, often given to me as gifts. They are so lovely that I can’t bring myself to use them; it would feel like I was defacing something precious! Ridiculous, I know!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sooo glad that I am not the only one with a stash of beautiful, untouched notebooks, which I cannot bear to ‘ruin’!!! I also have a stash of books with just a few pages of notes, and the rest blank. Whenever I think of a new venture, it always has to be in a new book lol! I am trying to train myself not to worry about this, and just start in the current book where I left off. Bullet journaling helps with this actually, with its approach of ‘just use the next page for whatever you want to write’ – very liberating! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close