Off the needles

I wrote last year (here and here) about one of my mega knitting projects that was hugely enjoyable, albeit rather time consuming.

I am pleased to say that I finally finished knitting my Soumak Shawl shortly before Christmas.

I then made the most of watching The Crown on Netflix (a fabulous production, by the way) to help pass the time while I sewed in the seemingly endless ends…

img_3993
Endless ends!

All of a sudden, it was finished, and I now have the most gorgeous, squishy, colourful wrap – perfect timing as the weather starts to get colder.

img_3988
Ta-Dah!

And in bonus news, while I was sorting out my yarn stash, I found this sad little waif and stray…

img_3831
Oh dear….

I finished this project so long ago that I can’t even remember knitting it.  I think I must have put it away at the time because I did not then have the means to block it.  But I do now!  You can see how large the shawl stretches by reference to the books on the small bookcase.

img_3842
Mega-blocking in action

Here is the finished shawl in all its glory.  Knitted in Rowan’s Kid Silk Haze, it is beautifully light and airy, whil also providing cosy warmth.

img_3992
Ta-Dah for the second time of asking

Knitting is such a joy for me – I love the process as much as the finished items.  I am looking forward to many more knitting hours in 2017. 🙂

20 thoughts on “Off the needles

  1. Really especially pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Delicate and. Exquisite, Liz! You really have a creative spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Becky! “Creativity is not the finding of a thing, but the making something out of it after it is found.” ~James Russell Lowell. I could not breathe if I was not being creative! 😀💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Absolutely lovely, you are a star in knitting. So beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ute – very kind. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Both shawls look wonderful! It’s amazing what a difference blocking makes. Have lots of knitting fun in 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Clare. Yes, although I have now blocked many projects, I am always stunned by the transformative effect.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Both are gorgeous! And not an endless end in sight 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank, Sandra – so pleased to get past those ends!! 🙂

      Like

  6. Beauties, both of them. I am assuming you enjoyed the Crown. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mandy. Yes, I did enjoy The Crown, and was also very interested to see Valerie Davies’ post about the truth behind the stories.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, it was good to read her take on it.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I can’t believe you completely forgot about that purple shawl!! It’s lovely and you are going to get tons of compliments wearing it! I actually like the soumak one even more–it’s so unusual and bright!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kerry. Yes, I know – so mad to ‘lose’ a completed project like that – at least it has now seen the light of day and I am looking forward to wearing it. Soumak is also a joy to wear – it is really cosy, and I love the vibrant colour combinations. 🙂

      Like

  8. Two beautiful works of art. Well done, Liz. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Liz, congratulations on finishing Soumak! It is completely gorgeous! And I can’t believe you managed to forget that other shawl. It must have been like Christmas when you found it. Happy New Year!!!!! – Kelly

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kelly. I am really pleased with Soumak – I am indebted to you for your original inspiration. And yes, totally mad to ‘lose’ a project like that – it was indeed a total delight to liberate it from a dark corner. As you know, KSH is a delight to wear. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close