Decorating The Christmas Tree – a quick guide

I love having our Christmas decorations up.  But I’m not a big fan of actually putting them up.  I am therefore extremely lucky that my dear Hub is prepared to do it.

We normally decorate nearer to Christmas itself.  For various reasons, and bearing in mind the timing of various visits this year, this past weekend was designated as decorating day.

I love being able to get out all out the various Christmas bits and bobs.  These mugs give me a ridiculous amount of pleasure, for example…

img_3848

I love our little village scene, with the trains going round and the lights changing…

img_3887

Seeing our tree in all its glory is just wonderful.  Here are some shots of just a few of my favourite tree decorations.  Hub reckons he put up over 100!

And here is a short video of Hub doing the honours.  This really is a celebration of all his talents – not only did he put in all that decorating effort, but the music is also played by him too – swoon! 🙂

21 thoughts on “Decorating The Christmas Tree – a quick guide

  1. A perfect festive blog! Lovely to see the decorations. Exhausting watching Steve putting the tree up but it looks fab. So great to hear Steve’s music as an accompaniment. More please! Xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Glad you like it all! And thanks for the lovely FB share xxx

      Like

  2. This is so great! Having not had the best of days, this has just put my world to rights again 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sorry you have not had a brilliant day, Sandra. V pleased to have lightened it a little for you.

      Like

  3. I LOVED your video!!! The music was superb and the Christmas train was a delight. Merry Christmas – we are just in the process of putting our tree up – everything is scattered around the living room. You have inspired me to continue…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you like it all. Looking forward to seeing the pictures of your decorations! 😀🎄

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The tree looks great! … and all that in 4 minutes wow…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol – amazing what you can do when you get a move on! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  5. This made me chuckle. Can’t wait to see it for real v soon. Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really looking forward to your and Lucy’s visit. 🙂 xxx

      Like

  6. Splendid! And a wonderful video, too. I was hoping to catch a glimpse of Mother and Father Christmas sitting in those comfy chairs but I guess they have no time to sit at this time of the year. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol – I’ll have to put out some mince pies which might entice them! (And carrots for the reindeer too of course…) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A wee dram of whisky as well. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. That video cracks me up–it must’ve been so much fun to do! And, yes, what a guy! Does he cook, too??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He is very special – I am very lucky. And yes, he does indeed cook – and enjoys it too!! 🙂

      Like

  8. Oh lucky, lucky you! I really enjoyed the video and your decorations look wonderful ❤ I quite enjoy putting the decorations up and I sometimes get offers of help. I don't particularly enjoy taking them down again on 12th Night and do I get any offers of help then? No. We haven't had the time/felt like decorating yet. We bought a cut tree today and it is waiting outside in a bucket of water so whenever we feel like it we can bring it in and start the festivities.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Clare! I understand what you mean about taking them down, although I am often quite pleased to be getting on with it and getting back to normal. We have been known to take down our decorations on the 27th if we are not likely to have visitors after that!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, it’s often a relief when they have been packed away for another year.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Great man you’ve got there, Liz! 🙂 I’m all set to take mine down 😦 Happy 2017 to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s a total treasure! And our decorations are now down too – it always seem to go so quickly. All the very best to you for 2017 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close