The Joy of Giving Part II

Reflecting on my last post about giving, I realised that one of the particular reasons why this type of activity brings so much pleasure is because you don’t know specifically who will benefit.  Of course it is nice to give gifts to people you know.  But there is something about the unconditional nature of giving to strangers which enhances the action.

I continued this anonymised giving streak this week, following a mega sort out of my yarn stash.  I had finally come round to accepting that I would never knit my way through my entire yarn collection, so it was better to pass things on to people who could make use of it.

img_3826

Here in Edinburgh we have a marvellous charity called The Royal Edinburgh Repository and Self Aid Society, which supports individuals in need through the sale of their own handiwork.  It has been in operation, in one form or another, for over 200 years.  You can read more about the Society and its history here.

I checked that they were happy to take donations of yarn, which indeed they were, and set off with this lot this morning…

img_3808

The shop assistant was delighted!  And I was equally delighted to know that all that yarn will be put to use for such a good cause.  So much so, in fact, that I came straight home and identified two more bags to take down in the next few days.

And lest you fear for my own ability to continue knitting in the absence of all this yarn – worry not!  I still have a ridiculous five boxes-worth to keep me going…!! 🙂

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “The Joy of Giving Part II

  1. The charity looks like a very worthy cause and a perfect place for your yarn. Xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. A great idea, Liz! If you can’t use it, someone else can. There comes a time when we recognize that we live with time constraints. I always remember my grandmother saying “Your eyes are bigger than your stomach.” So glad that we can share…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I slightly surprised myself by arriving at this result, but once I had got over my initial ‘I can’t possibly part with it’ feelings, it was something of a relief to be passing it all on – especially such a good cause.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. I would so much love to have a little shop like that myself. You make many people happy with this yarn, wonderful you could part with such a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ute – yes, it was difficult at first to think about giving it up – having had it all for such a long time, it felt like part of me!! But once I realised how much better it would be for it to be used up, rather than sitting in my spare room, it was easy to pass it on. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. And did you come home with anything? I love the look of the little knitted toys on their website. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I managed to resist yesterday, but may well have to give something a home when I go in with the second lot of yarn today!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is great! What a wonderful way to simplify your own life while making others really, really happy!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this 🙂 What a wonderful initiative. We need this kind of charity (and your kind of giving) in many more places!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Sandra! 🙂

      Like

  7. Well done Liz! Being honest with myself and giving up on projects I am never likely to complete, let alone start, is something I find really difficult to do so I can completely empathise with you here! What an excellent charity too! Charities that empower people to do things for themselves are the best kind of charities.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Clare! It was very hard a first to think about giving away all that yarn, especially as I had had it for so long, so it seemed like a part of me. But once I realised how much better it would be for it to be put to good use in a way that I was unlikely to be able to do, it made it so much easier to pass it on! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I am proud of you. I used to have a wickedly absurd stash and I gave almost all of it away. It takes a mind of frugality and minimalism to have only what you need for one project on the needles. It makes one think, however, about what is merely a whim and what a want. And I’ve learned to look on sales with a jaundiced eye. I am proud of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for these lovely comments. You are so right about whims, wants and needs – we sometimes get caught up in the former, jeopardising our chances of getting pleasure from the latter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close