Autumn Reading Review Part II

What blessings we have in our lives!  This adorable little quote from jaderbomb.com captures perfectly those fleeting yet magical early morning moments filled, we hope, with some of our favourite things.  For me, books would always feature in such a list.

Following on from my last post, here is the second set of reviews of my recent reads…

The Mountain Can Wait, Sarah Leipziger:  grounded; compelling; intense

This book is a sort of thriller.  At the start, we witness someone driving home from a party through wintry woods.  Suddenly a girl appears in the car’s headlights, too quickly to avoid her.  The driver decides to drive on.  This incident creates an undercurrent for the rest of the novel, which looks at the day to day lives of a handful of people.  It quickly becomes apparent that this is not your average page-turner.  Nowhere is it fast-paced and escapist.  Rather, Leipziger presents a slow-burning, detailed consideration of life in remote communities.  It presents life as it is – routine, mundane even.  And yet it is still gripping.  Intensity builds gradually as the narrative progresses, drawing the reader in without their noticing.

Read this if you like:  a clever examination of life, rural communities and stories about the consequences of our choices.

 

Nutshell, Ian McEwan:  brutal; relentless; layered

I consumed this book in audio format.  It was a difficult listen because the male narrator – a foetus – is grim, arrogant and brutish.  Nevertheless, the narrative was clever, imaginative and addictive.  I learned after finishing it that McEwan is presenting a retelling of Hamlet.  I must confess that I did not pick this up – clearly my Shakespeare knowledge is rusty.  However, I was more than content to let it stand on its own merits.  I enjoy McEwan’s work (see next review, for example) – he is one of my regular audio selections.  The Children Act is perhaps my favourite.

Read this if you like:  intelligent, modern story-telling.

 

The Innocent, Ian McEwan:  gripping; painful; inventive

My second audiobook in recent times, and my second recent McEwan.  We accompany Leonard Marnham through his experiences as a young adult in post-WWII/cold-war Germany and beyond.  An unsophisticated, nervous Englishman, Marnham is thrust into an unexpected life of cross and double-cross.  Add to this his growing relationship with a German divorcee and you have a fascinating story full of intrigue, romance and political history.  If you are a bit squeamish, give this one a miss.  Otherwise, you are in for a treat.

Read this if you like:  non-nonsense, compelling dramas about international relationships, both professional and personal.

 

An Equal Music, Vikram Seth: evocative; powerful; insightful

This was my year’s pick as ‘a book you have already read’.  I haven’t tended to re-read books, even those I have enjoyed very much – there always seems to be so many other books to move on to.  But I may be a ‘re-read convert’ after this.  I can see how getting the story out of the way on a first read leaves a work open to being enjoyed on a more detailed level the next time.  Why has this one in particular change my mind?  First off, it is an utterly beautiful book.  I have never read anything which comes close to this in terms of capturing what it is like to be immersed in classical music, both as a player and a lover of the genre.  Seth picks out the most humble of details (the feel of a violin string under one’s fingers; the smell of rosin on one’s bow), as well as highlighting the joys of playing music (the thrill of playing once again a favourite piece; the affinity one feels to fellow musicians), weaving it all together gracefully and elegantly.  The main narrative centres around a rekindled romance, but the real love affair is with music.  Seth says in his author’s note ‘music is dearer to me even than speech’ and oh how it shines through in this jewel.  It may be that, as a musician myself, I was always likely to enjoy this novel.  I suggest, however, that you don’t need ever to have picked up an instrument to get pleasure from this exquisite text.

Read this if you love: moving, thoughtful writing about love and life.

 

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book I), George R R Martin:  imaginative, sweeping,  exciting

I  was wondering what all the Game of Thrones fuss was about and so decided to give the first of many books in the series a go via audio format.  An epic 34- hour listen, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I could not tear myself away.  Martin has created an amazing landscape in which he has placed some fascinating characters.  I do wonder whether I would have got as much enjoyment from just reading the book – the audio version is admirably read and populated by Roy Dotrice and he gives each character such life.  No mean feat with a cast of seeming thousands!  I am already well through the second book.

Read this if you love:  creative, visionary story-telling on an ambitious and heroic scale.

 

Exposure, Helen Dunmore: captivating; suspenseful; moving

I have always liked Helen Dunmore’s books and this is no exception.  It happens to be another cold war/spy  thriller, with slow-burning tension.  Dunmore expertly weaves together a number of relationships both professional and personal, cleverly depicting this fascinating time of paranoia, where secrets and embarrassments can rise up to bite at any time.

Read this if you love:  absorbing page-turners.

 

 

I hope these reviews inspire further reading for you, either in terms of these specific books, or as a springboard to others (if you like this, why not try…!).  Let me know what you think and, as ever, I am always interested to hear what you are reading at the moment. 🙂

 

17 thoughts on “Autumn Reading Review Part II

  1. That is interesting as a audio for Game of Thrones. Good Idea. I am on a local German Crime story at the moment set in the town I grew up.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Your local story sounds great – is it in a series you have read before? I recall us talking a while ago about the joy of reading novels set in familiar places.😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is Liz , the author keeps writing more stories. This is his 17th book now. Love them.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Wow! That’s some series!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You always inspire me. Just finished reading “The Rainbow Comes and Goes” letters between Anderson Cooper and his mother, Gloria Vanderbilt. Poignant and memorable.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That sounds great – I love books of letters. Speaking For Themselves (between Winston & Clementine Churchill) is a particular favourite. 😀💕

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Thank you!! Will look into that collection!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I must read ‘An Equal Music’! It sounds wonderful! I also love Helen Dunmore’s writing and have read a few of her books and some of her poetry but I haven’t read ‘Exposure’ yet – a treat to come.
    As soon as I put on headphones to listen to music or audio books someone comes into the room and wants to talk to me! The only time I have been able to listen to an audio book is if I am on my own in the house which is hardly ever these days. Oh, goodness! What a moan! Things will get better soon I’m sure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am sure you will love AnEQ and Exposure, Clare. Re listening, yes I know what you mean. My most common listening times are on public transport or while out walking around the city (unless I want to catch the ambient sounds, such as birdsong). But I will also sometimes put a book on as an accompaniment to something else, such as ironing or cooking. And I find it does not matter if I only manage to snatch a short 10 mins or so. If the narration is good enough, it seems easier to dip in and out than it can be with a book. My suggestion for you is to try not to assume that you need a long, clear listening stretch, but just to fit it in as and when. You’ll be surprised! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Love the quote at the top of your post. I am wondering after these reviews if I would enjoy audio books. I know Clanmother is a fan of audio books, too. At the moment I am making my way through Mariana by Monica Dickens. I read in snatches, so I should be able to apply the technique you suggest for audio books. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I heartily recommend that you give audiobooks a try, Mandy. They are great for accessing books that might otherwise be a difficult read. For example, I love the classics, but need dedicated, quality reading time for this type of text, which is hard to find! Listening to a classic novel on the other hand makes it so much more accessible, and if you get a good narrator, it really brings the story to life in a very memorable way. I am subscribed to Audible, which is a site linked with Amazon and it is great. I pay a small monthly subscription which buys a credit offsettable with the purchase of any book. But you can also buy things on a one off basis – you can do this through iTunes too and I am sure there are plenty of other sites as well. Do let me know what you decide to do! 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Another thought-provoking list 🙂 And the quote is simply perfect! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Sandra! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close