One of the joys of the internet is having access to and insights about cultures which would otherwise be hidden from us.

If you have 16 minutes to spare and fancy being taken off to a different world, have a watch of this fascinating video about the ancient art of skiing in China.

I have skied in the past – several hundred years ago, it feels like now. ย Even so, I don’t think you need to have had this experience to appreciate and enjoy the beauty of this film; to sense what it must be like to scythe through virgin snow in stunning landscapes.

I find this story – the juxtaposition of a seemingly modern phenomenon with the application of traditional skills – both incredible and mesmerising. ย Reflecting on the fact that these activities are happening as I type; remembering those images of camels on the road and thousand-year old cave paintings of ancient skiers; I feel a sense of connection despite the thousands of miles which separate me from these cultures.

We humans are all trying, in our various ways, to live our best lives, to feed and clothe ourselves, to experience enjoyment and freedom. ย Being reminded that it is not just me that has these aims and wishes brings a sense of peace and calm.

We are like islands in the sea, separate on the surface but connected in the deep.
~ William James

