“Always remember that the future comes one day at a time.”
― Dean Acheson

On the continued theme of  presence and mindfulness, I found the short video below to be fascinating and compelling.  In some ways, it tells us only what we already know – we humans have been having an impact on the evolution of the Earth for a ridiculously small percentage of the overall time that it has existed.  But there is no harm in being reminded of this; it creates a space in which we can ask ourselves ‘how much does this really need to bother me’ when faced with something seemingly difficult in our lives.

I had a profound experience a few years ago when Hub and I visited the site of Skara Brae on the Scottish island of Orkney.  This Neolithic village, over 5,000 years old, highlights in the most stunning way that the individuals living there at this time were not so very different to ourselves.  Walking around the excavated houses, looking at the stone furniture and ornaments which had clearly been so loving crafted, was incredibly moving and emotional.  It certainly brought home to me that any problems such as trying to clear my e-mails were utterly insignificant.

Of course, there are times when we face major hurdles, obstacles and tragedies.  These are not to be trivialised.  But, for the most part, our worries are small:  short-term; superficial; inconsequential.  My dear, wise mother has a helpful ‘will it matter in 10 years’ time’ mantra.  Give it a try the next time you have a concern – I guarantee you will find that in most cases the answer will be a happy ‘no’!   🙂

