I enjoyed noticing these beautiful daisies poking through paving.
I enjoyed noticing these beautiful daisies poking through paving.

 

 

“Always say “yes” to the present moment. What could be more futile, more insane, than to create inner resistance to what already is? What could be more insane than to oppose life itself, which is now and always now? Surrender to what is. Say “yes” to life — and see how life suddenly starts working for you rather than against you.”

― Eckhart Tolle

I can think of at least two times this week when something has happened to cause me stress and worry.  By talking things through with Hub, I found ways to get through them – I am always so greatful to him for his support.

Even so, in quieter moments, I am able to reflect that it would be so much better if I could remember to be mindful and reap the benefits of living in the present moment.  But how can this be achieved?  How is it possible to avoid those knee-jerk, stomach-clenching reactions to life’s trials and tribulations?

Here is a marvellous, short clip of an interview between Oprah Winfrey and the majestic Eckhart Tolle, in which he offers two simple techniques which will help in these situations.  While watching the clip, I could feel the immediate impact on my breathing, and could see how a second’s focus on the breath can make all the difference.  Finding joy and meaning in every task, no matter how simple or seemingly insignificant might seem like a tall order, but I am going to redouble my efforts to take this advice – after all, as Tolle says, the majority of our days are made up of such tasks.  It is only infrequently that our time is taken up with major events.

How important, then, to take notice of all these little trifles. 🙂

“How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives.”

– Annie Dillard, The Writing Life

