Right here, right now….

The present moment is filled with joy and happiness.  If you are attentive, you will see it.

~ Thich Naht Hanh

Anyone who follows me on Twitter or Instagram (see links at the foot of this page if you are interested!) will know that I am slightly obsessed about posting photographs of the beautiful sunsets with which we are blessed here in Scotland.  Hub and I are lucky enough to live in an apartment with a fabulous view – it is an excellent vantage point for weather-watching.

Last night, I shared this photo – a stunning example of the evening skies to which we are treated:

image

A moment later, the sky looked like this:

image

This illustrates perfectly how fleeting life can be, and how important it therefore is to make the most of every moment as it arises.

I think it also shows how beauty can be found in anything; we just need to look for it.  The first photo is very eye-catching because of the glorious cloud-colours.  In comparison, the second photo might seem rather brooding initially.  But take a second look – it is full of drama, showcasing those amazing, wispy-yet-sweeping cirrus formations.  Stunning! 🙂

The moment one gives close attention to anything, even a blade of grass, it becomes a mysterious, awesome, indescribably magnificent world in itself.

~ Henry Miller

 

 

15 thoughts on “Right here, right now….

  1. They are indeed fantastic. I agree with all this and love the quotes. Enjoy your cinema of nature Liz, right out the window.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely agree! We have stunning sunsets too. They never fail to help me to appreciate how precious and fleeting a moment can be.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Both skies are equally impressive–I agree! We have had unusually wonderful sunsets this summer, too, and autumn light will probably make them even more dramatic!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Roll on those Autumn skies! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Stunning sunset photos Liz – and your quotes are excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It really is amazing, not just the sky but how beauty appears everywhere and sometimes so unexpectedly it gives us a jolt and a smile. Both skies are equally beautiful giving off different emotions to each, both distinct and unique. What a wonder it is have a good imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Imagination is everything – it is the preview of life’s coming attractions” – Albert Einstein 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I enjoy every minute of your blog posts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, how lovely, thanks Mandy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Did I mention, or did you mention, Sunset Song? http://www.nziff.co.nz/2016/auckland/sunset-song/ I haven’t seen it but my brother and his wife loved it. Possibly a bit sad for me but I would like to know which parts of it were filmed in Canterbury. I wonder if I could tell!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is on my ‘to watch’ list – as you suggest, I am waiting for the time when I am in the right mood for it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. When you do see it, let me know if you can tell which scenes are not filmed in Scotland!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close