A Wonderful Time of Year

Autumn is a second spring, when every leaf is a flower.

~ Albert Camus

August has been a month full of drama, wonder and fabulousness.  It has also marked a complete break from my normal routine.  Hub and I have really enjoyed the last few weeks – it is good to do different things and create new perspectives.

I also find that getting back into one’s daily routine is equally rewarding and, in many ways, comforting.  This time of year always gives me that ‘back to school’ feeling, no matter how old I get.  And it remains perfect for re-booting one’s daily habits as we settle into autumn. I adore the summer-autumn transition, with those slightly woody smells in the air, higher clouds and the arrival of russet leaves.

I am particulately looking forward to getting back into proper reading. I have not finished any books this month, because we have been out and about at events and there was that small matter of the Olympics, which was compulsive viewing for a fortnight.  Here’s to another glorious time of year!

Listen!  The wind is rising,

and the air is wild with leaves,

We have had our summer evenings,

now for October eves!

~ Humbert Wolfe, Autumn (Resignation)

 

12 thoughts on “A Wonderful Time of Year

  1. Around about this time of year, when I go into the garden early in the morning, suddenly there is a particular smell in the air, and it is Autumn – on its way. And visually, there is the dew picking out the details of the cobwebs. And we have our birthdays! Magic! Xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great minds, Liz – I’ve just this moment posted my version! Your August sounds fabulous – and hoping for an equally fab September! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Another example of being on the same wavelength – I look forward to checking out your post! 🙂

      Like

  3. I love this post which makes me look forwardto autumn which won’t arrive at The Holler until October~

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Can’t wait to see your posts about that! 🙂

      Like

  4. I don’t want autumn yet! I love the autumn smell and freshness but that usually doesn’t last long. Shortening days, worsening weather….oh no, I don’t want autumn yet.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lol! I bet Autumn is absolutely beautiful in your neck of the woods… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is! Thank-you Liz x

        Liked by 1 person

  5. My favourite time of year!! Some believe that spring is about beginnings but my beginnings have always been associated with Autumn

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I didn’t know that line by Camus and I just love it! Autumn is my favourite season and, although it is still warm here, the early mornings and late evenings are significantly cooler and the sun is setting earlier. I wonder if readers like autumn in particular as it is the start of a cozy period of the year?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You may have something there! Isn’t it wonderful to curl up as the nights draw in with a good book. And, linking to your recent post, even places like cafés seem to become copier when the weather outside sets in! :). PS – thanks so much for the tweet of my post xxx

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close