Books, Glorious Books!

image

I cannot live without books.

~ Thomas Jefferson

I mentioned in my last reading review post that I was looking forward to attending several events at this year’s Edinburgh International Book Festival.  What a bibliographic feast!

I love the atmosphere at this festival.  It is peaceful and calm, yet humming under the surface with anticipation, enjoyment and wonder at all the riches which the literary world has to offer.

I attended four events:  a recording of the BBC’s Open Book programme, hosted by Mariella Frostrup and written about in this post;  and author events with Lionel Shriver, Jessie Burton and Susan Fletcher, and Tom Gauld.

They were all wonderful, in very different ways.  Lionel Shriver spoken incisively, intelligently and comprehensively about her fears for western society in the short and medium future, building on the theme of her latest book The Mandibles.  Jessie Burton and Susan Fletcher compared notes about art, celebrity and identity when discussing their books The Muse and Let Me Tell You About A Man I Knew.  Tom Gauld was fascinatingly fulsome in sharing a range of images which inspired his book Mooncop, along with thoughts on the process of developing a graphic novel.

He was also very generous with his time and skill when it came to the book signing session.  He drew a small picture for each person.  Here is mine.

image

I cannot tell you how much pleasure this gives me.  Mr Gauld was prepared to have a proper discussion with me about how to develop a love for graphic novels, the colours chosen for his book and the clever conveying of emotion with just a few strokes of the pen.  Fabulous!  I am already looking forward to next year’s festival. 🙂

 

11 thoughts on “Books, Glorious Books!

  1. What a wonderful time you had. Books are glorious – they celebrate curiosity and the pure joy of learning!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was the best, along with last Sunday night!! 💜💚💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Many hugs coming your way! Have reached Skye!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. I love it when writers are generous to their readers. On Friday, it was National Poetry Day in New Zealand. We were invited to text or call the Poetry Phone and request a poem to suit our mood. So I did. And a person, a poet, texted me a poem, and when I sent my thanks she sent me another poem. It was such a lovely interaction. I thought how much fun it would be if there were book phones! Something a book festival or a book shop could easily do, I would think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a wonderful experience that sounds! And yes, completely agree it would be great if this could be replicated and expanded – imagine how exciting it would be for kids 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds heavenly! This year was the first time I’d ever attended a literary/arts festival – in nearby Fowey. Much, much smaller than Edinburgh obviously, but I loved it. I’m already looking forward to next year’s! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is something so wonderful about being able to immerse oneself in books via an event such as a literary festival – I am sure the one at Fowey was just as fabulous as the Edinburgh one 🙂

      Like

  4. How exciting! It is so good to know that authors are happy to share their thought and work processes with us mere mortals.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close