Songs for Swinging Bakers

The arrival of guests chez nous today has given me a good excuse to do some baking.

Hub and I have been trying to cut down a bit on indulgences recently so I have not been baking as frequently as I used to.  But it is always nice to be able to offer home-cooked goodies to family and friends, isn’t it.

Here is my freshly-glazed lemon drizzle cake – yum!  I used Mary Berry’s very reliable recipe, with which I always get good results.

image

And while I was preparing it, I was listening to some wonderful, classic swing tunes.  Below are three of my favourites.  Why not give them a listen the next time you feel like foxtroting and jiving around the kitchen! 🙂

 

15 thoughts on “Songs for Swinging Bakers

  1. Oooh – I love a good swing tune! Can’t say I’ve ever baked along to one though. Perhaps I should try it.

    Enjoy your guests. We are almost at the end of the open visitor season. Lovely though it has been, I’m looking forward to breathing out!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I highly recommend it, Sandra! Yes, it is always nice to get back to normal after the summer frenzy, isn’t it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These were some classic dance tracks my parents used to dance. Great to beat the batter in swinging rhythm.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I love that – beating the batter in time to the music – fantastic! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yummy. I am sure your friends will love this cake. I made Mary Berry’s Lemon Pots for one of the dessert choices today and everyone loved them. Lovely Mary Berry – and this week is the start of “Bake Off”! Xx

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I always find Mary Berry’s recipes easy to follow and they always turn out well. Your lemon drizzle looks yummy! The only way I can cope with baking is to listen to music while I do it – I love your swing choices!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I can just picture you boogie-ing around in your kitchen while rustling up some home-made goodies! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You bake with style. 😀 I usually need to bake in silence. That way I am less likely to leave out ingredients. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The cake looks great! And what fun to rock the kitchen while you bake!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The title promised a different post and I thought you may be revealing something personal about your life off the blog hehe. At least you can keep your car keys hung up for baking which is a much better way to pass the time. Catchy musical choices by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha – so sorry to disappoint you! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close