On the Hook

I adore knitting – it is probably my main go-to craft.  Nevertheless, it is always nice to have a break and venture into some of the other yarn-related territory that is available.

I have had, for a while, this collection of Buachaille yarn, produced by Kate Davies Designs.  It is a gorgeous, 100% Scottish wool in these ten colours:

image
The ten colours of Buachaille

I had thought it would be really super to make something which draws on all the variations.  When I read Attic24’s blog about this Japanese Flower Scarf, I just knew this would be the pattern to make.

So I sourced the pattern book, which is in Japanese (!), studied the crochet charts (which are universal and do not need a knowledge of the Japanese language – phew), and in the last couple of days, made a start.

Here is my ‘test flower’ in original state, being blocked, and finished off.  I wanted to make sure that the crochet hook size I had chosen (3mm) was not too small.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was happy with the result and so have had a lovely time generating more flowers:

image

The pattern helpfully shows how to link each flower to the last ones as you complete the final round.  This saves hours of ‘joining-up’, although it does mean that the whole scarf will have to be blocked in one go at the end – I will need a lot of pins!!

Some may say ‘not another scarf/wrap etc?’.  Firstly, like handbags and shoes, a girl can never have too many scarves.  Secondly, from a creative point of view, it is really nice to focus only on colour, texture and form, without needing to think about shaping, fit etc.  No doubt I will turn to garments at some stage, or will I….? 🙂

20 thoughts on “On the Hook

  1. I love to crochet – haven’t done it in years, but you have me thinking its time to come back…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Go on – be a devil! It’s perfect for passing the time on flights…. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love it! I even like the way it looks unblocked, with the petals of the flowers turning up. I’ll look forward too seeing it again, as you progress.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kerry – much appreciated! Yes, the unblocked flowers are pretty cute, aren’t they 😀🌸

      Like

  3. I love your yarns and the flower motif. I’m not crazy about a lot of colours though, so I’d probably opt for just one set and repeat them. Boring, huh? 🙂 Maybe I’d jazz it up with the odd different one. 🙂 Happy weekend, Liz! I can picture you, beavering away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jo. Yes, the great thing about this kind of pattern is that you can either go for lots of colours like mine, or stick with a narrower palette. The scarf in the original pattern is a very nice combination of nut brown, dusky pink and cream – not boring at all! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Very pretty! The yarn looks as though it has a lovely firm texture, and what gorgeous colours!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Clare! Absolutely right re the yarn – it is a beautiful wool – not scratchy at all and holds the shapes well. It will soften a little with blocking and be nice against the neck (eventually!). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nice to know! That’s what I find difficult with wool.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Indeed – I usually steer clear of 100% wool too! Nice when you find something that bucks the trend 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes! I have a wonderful purple wool coat that I had to wear with a silky scarf for over a year before the collar had softened. The coat isn’t quite what it was when new but my neck is happy!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I know exactly what you mean. I have a beautiful scarf that my mother bought me when we were holidaying on the Isle of Skye some years ago. It has gorgeous, heathery colours and I love it. But oh! How it itches!! I can only wear it outside the collar of a coat, so I need to be sure it will be dry. A bit like the Parisienne powder-blue suede shoes that I have had for years and hardly ever wear!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. That looks gorgeous. I agree with us never having enough scarves. I am the same I love scarves and just brought a very light one back form Mallorca.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is the neatest thing ever! It solves the problem~as a painter, I always want to use colors together but it never works out the way I think it will. I love it! Also, you are absolutely right, of course. A girl can never have too many scarves. But if one could, I think this would be the one to keep!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for this, Melissa – I am really glad you like this project. I completely understand what you mean about the colours. I am pushing my own boundaries with this one – I have tended in the past only to use very co-ordinating colours, so this for me is an unusual departure. One that I am very much enjoying! 🙂

      Like

      1. I’m looking forward to seeing it when it is finished 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close