“What, Never?……

……Well, hardly ever!”

Chorus and Captain, HMS Pinafore, Gilbert and Sullivan

This is one of my favourite G&S lines.  Here is a YouTube video of the full song if you would like to hear it in context.

Why is it relevant to today’s post?  Well, I wanted simply to note the unusually marvellous warm weather we have been having here in Edinburgh for the last couple of days.  It is a real rarity to feel confident about wandering around in shorts and a t-shirt, and tempting to say it never happens.  But on the evidence of this week, one must modify this to ‘hardly ever’.

Here’s a picture of the central part of Edinburgh taken on Tuesday from North Bridge, looking across the roofs of Waverley Station:

image

Although there are some clouds in the sky, I can assure you that it was very hot indeed by midday.  Hub and I met for lunch then strolled across to St Andrew Square so that he could pick up a tram to travel to an afternoon meeting.  I, other the other hand, was able briefly to enjoy the sunshine some more, sitting in the Square which has been converted into a festival location:

image image

At the moment, the Jazz Festival is in full swing, as you might say.  While I was taking my ease, watching the world go by and reading my book, a trad jazz group struck up in the main performance area:

image

Their cheerful sound wafted out from the open windows, making the whole experience absolutely perfect.

Here’s an example of the kind of toe-tapping music I was listening to – I hope it adds to the perfection of your day too. 🙂

 

PS – Oh, how we miss the wit, wisdom and charm of Humphrey Lyttelton.

 

11 thoughts on ““What, Never?……

  1. I agree we ‘hardly ever’ get such lovely weather and it is good to enjoy it for now. As a former ‘Buttercup’ I enjoyed the G and S clip and as a visitor the Jazz Club in Corn Street Bristol in my teens when I was lucky enough to see/hear Humphrey Lyttelton, you couldn’t have picked a better example. I hope you enjoy more of the Jazz Festival in great weather. X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds and looks great, Jazz festival in this weather, I find the heat so lovely as you say we don’t get it often enough, and you in Scotland even rarer. Well it is drizzling already today and very cloudy. We need to make the most of every ray of sunshine! yes and get the shorts out when you can.

    Like

    1. Exactly so – well said! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. We use that “hardly ever” line around here, too! Enjoy your weather while it lasts!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. G and S and Humph in one post! Heaven!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Splendid, splendid! May the warmth continue for a while yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, my dad loved this line too. It became a family joke and I often hear it running through my mind. What fun. It sounds lovely, sitting there in the sun with a book and hearing jazz strike up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was indeed a real treat. And I love how the ‘what never’ line has struck a chord with so many people!

      Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close