The journey across the Highlands of Scotland is breathtaking.  You may know from my last post that Hub and I travelled last week from the port of Ullapool on the west mainland to the north east town of Wick, a former Viking settlement and once a very busy fishing port.

Here are some images of this leg of our trip, once again taken from the car:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As you can see, the landscape is stunningly beautiful – a feast for the eyes wherever one looks.

As with our previous stops, we had only a short time in Wick, but it was long enough for me to have a good look around while Hub was in a meeting.  I have tons of photos so will devote a single post to this lovely area in my next ‘Scottish Journey’ post.  In the meantime, here is a taster of things to come.  This shot was taken from a headland to which one could walk, looking back on the town of Wick and its lovely harbour:

image

 

