The Value of Life-Long Learning

Who can deny the benefits of pushing oneself constantly to learn?

Helping us to keep an open mind; staying curious and interested about the world around us and further afield; helping us to understand and cope with change; facilitating the finding of meaning in our lives; creating opportunities to make the world a better place and actively contribute to our communities.

These are just a few of the reasons why we should all find ways to prioritise life-long learning.

It is well known that Benjamin Franklin articulated a thorough and structured means of ensuring that he achieved his daily goals.  By pursuing his ‘thirteen virtues’ and monitoring his progress, he created space for deliberate learning.

image
Benjamin Franklin’s Thirteen Virtues – as written in my journal (click to enlarge)

Here’s an interesting article that builds on Franklin’s approach and adds some further ideas about how to incorporate learning into our daily routine.

What about you?  How do you keep learning?  Any tips for the rest of us? 🙂

7 thoughts on “The Value of Life-Long Learning

  1. Whenever I read about Benjamin Franklin, I learn something new, something fresh, something worthwhile. I first met him around 6 or 7 when a teacher said these words. “Early to bed, early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy & wise.” What I found most interesting was that Franklin brought a printing machine with him everywhere he went so that he could publish pamphlets to spread his ideas. He knew the power of the press from the very beginning and was able to sway public interest and opinion. His powers of persuasion were remarkable. As he said so eloquently “If all printers were determined not to print anything till they were sure it would offend nobody, there would be very little printed.’

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Fascinating, thank you! Yes, he really was a very remarkable man in so many ways – we could do with someone around like that now….

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Another thoughtful post Liz – thank-you. I love acquiring knowledge and I hate making mistakes and being wrong! I use dictionaries, text books and guides and I Google so that everything I write is as well-researched as possible. Unfortunately, my method isn’t infallible and errors do occur but I try to learn by my mistakes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really love seeing your journal like this! The time you took, to write out those virtues so beautifully, must’ve allowed you the opportunity to ponder every word. I agree so thoroughly with your ideas about constant curiosity and learning–I feel like I have a very restless mind . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Kerry. You are spot on – it was a great pleasure to write out the virtues. Calligraphy is one of those activities which ‘enforces mindfulness’ – if you are concentrating properly, it is impossible to think about anything other than what you are writing. So, as you say, it is perfect for really engaging with wisdom and learning. Like you, I am constantly thinking about what else I can do, read, think about – ain’t life grand! 😀🎨✏️📚🖊🎹🎧🌿🌸

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The joy of learning, it’s like a drug, I love it! My only tips are read widely and as often as possible, learning begets learning and deeper meaning is always found and more and more obscure books need to be sought which is always exciting in itself!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close