Gloomy Joy

It has been a really dreich day weather-wise in Edinurgh today.  Misty and rainy –  the sort of day where you just want to curl up and watch the TV and/or read a good book with a nice cup of tea.

It occurred to me that it is so very easy to write about and post pictures of lovely sunny days.  How important, though, also to look around at the beauty available to us, regardless of the weather.  As I sit typing this post, I can hear the rain beating down outside – it is in many ways a comforting sound:  we need the rain for survival; and its rhythm is calming and peaceful, like a ticking clock.

Below are some shots of gorgeous flowers and foliage taken in the rain, just a few steps from our front door.  I love how cheerful everything looks, the splendour enhanced by the raindrops.  What an inspiration for life! 🙂

It’s not what you look at that matters, but what you see.

~ Henry David Thoreau

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 thoughts on “Gloomy Joy

  1. I agree wholeheartedly! Right now, I’m sitting in Starbucks have a Chai tea (already had coffee and tea must follow to complete my day). The rain is coming down by the bucketfuls. I’m waiting for it to subside, before I venture outside. But the beauty that comes from rain and mist is mesmerizing. I have yet to master the technique of taking photos in this type of environment. But there are enough days to practice. Another excellent post, Liz!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Becky! ❤️💕💖

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gorgeous flowers and plants in your photos. They look always great even if it rains. We have April weather here in London too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ute! 😀🌺💦

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How wise you are! The photos are lovely! I hope the rain doesn’t continue for too long though, as all the lovely flowers will begin to look very sad! My daughter’s room has a skylight in it and the other night I said I hoped the rain wouldn’t keep her awake. She said she found the noise very comforting – which is the answer I would have given and I was pleased to see that you agree with us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Clare! I am very happy to be on the same wavelength as you and your daughter 😀💦

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The flower photos are beautiful–you can tell the blooms agree about the rain! I like a rainy day, too–a good excuse to be kind of lazy and cozy.

    Like

    1. So glad you like the pics – and are a fellow rainy-day lover!! 🙂

      Like

  5. Well said! A great attitude to have.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this, Liz! Give me a grey day any day. Just look how those colors pop!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Melissa! Great to hear from you 😀🌺

      Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close