23 thoughts on “A Perfect City Day?

  1. This is the very best kind of day to have. I love your reading choices. I have so many books on my list and am reading several at a time, depending upon what I’m doing. For example, I’m reading “Lady in Gold” when I walk with my iPod and a biography of Chanel and on my iPad when I’m at coffee and then listening to The Book of Five Rings on my desktop when I’m editing my photos. There is never enough time for all the books…but technology has increase our ability to connect with books. Have a wonderful day. I am there with you “in spirit”!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I often take my reading inspiration from you – I love the choices you make too! Yes, it is wonderful to have such an array of reading opportunities, whether in print or audio format – we truly live in inspiring times! And I very much look forward to the time when you will be enjoying Edinburgh in person with me 🙂 xxx

      Liked by 2 people

  2. This sounds like a wonderful city day to me, I would join you bring my own book and we read in harmony with some tea and cake. Sounds totally like bliss. Peaceful, beautiful and calm!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. What a lovely thought, Ute. I really hope we can do that some day 😀❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What I especially love about this is that you can do all these things by walking around. Edinburgh is a very human-sized city!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed it is & so nice to be able to make the most of it 😀

      Like

  4. I think my perfect city day is just like the one you had. Galleries to visit, frequent stops for refreshments, time to admire my surroundings, a book or two to amuse me and nice weather! I love your slide show!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Clare – we are clearly very much in tune with each other! 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  5. What a day! It all sounds perfect and the trip to the museum would top it off for me. I think John Singer Sargent might be my favorite painter so seeing Lady Agnew gave me a thrill, too. And I had the chance to see, in person, the image on one of your journals–the Great Wave by Hokusai–last year, too. Wish I could’ve been with you for this day!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. How marvellous it must have been to see the Hokusai in the flesh as it were – that will stay with you forever, I am sure. And yes, JSS is one of my favourite artists too (among many!). Lady Agnew is so wonderful. Perhaps we will one day get a chance to experience this kind of adventure together – you never know! 🙂

      Like

  6. I would give it 5 stars just on the basis of seeing Lady Agnew! So glad you can have these wonderful days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fair enough! I guess I am spoilt by having regular access to her 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She has a starring role on my desktop some days. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m popping down to Edinburgh from Aberdeenshire for a day and night in a couple of weeks, and had been hoping to find time visit the gallery. Now you’ve given the gift shop a good review I will absolutely get there, museum gift shops always have the nicest stationery!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lucy – yes the shop is fabulous, as is often the case in galleries & museums, as you say. I hope you manage to find time to visit the gallery – it is packed full of gems, and has a great cafe too – bonus! Not exactly sure when you will be visiting, but their main summer exhibition, which looks stunning, starts on the 25th June – see https://www.nationalgalleries.org/whatson/on-now-coming-soon/inspiring-impressionism/

      Liked by 1 person

  8. It all sounds delightful! A full day – but not too rushed. And I appreciate the book recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Amy – great to have your comments! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  9. That is an awesome day, so varied and with books involved its brilliant. Sometimes I get lonely on my solitary jaunts but then I realise that I would hanker for my own company were somebody with me probably. That book wth the waves on looks familiar, can’t place it but I have seen it somewhere before.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I consider myself very lucky to be able to spend my time like this – and find it important to remind myself that it is ok to do so. Being in one’s own company is rather luxurious, isn’t it. The picture on that notebook, by the way, is Hokusai’s ‘The Great Wave’, and in case you are interested, the picture on the other notebook is ‘Blossoming Almond Tree’ by Van Gogh

      Like

      1. Ah, it is good to be informed, I think I have seen The Great Wave on something in The Works which used to be a decent bookshop but has gone shockingly downhill in the last few years.

        I think everybody would benefit for a little time by themselves, it’s nice to just wander and have a think and a sit and a nap if one is feeling really adventurous.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am all for napping, and there is plenty of science to back up the benefits of spending time asleep in various ways. And spending time in silence, away from screens is extremely health-giving and life-affirming too.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close