Knitting Joy

I have recently been knitting a shawl, which has been a source of great pleasure.  The pattern is extremely easy to follow, so I could happily knit away without constantly stopping to check the stitch requirement.  And the yarn I picked could not have been better – beautiful colours, soft handling – a joy to work with.

This is a picture of the shawl about two thirds complete.  Even at this stage, I was really enjoying the interplay between the solid and variegated yarns (click to enlarge photos).

image

The pattern is called ‘Leventry‘ by Sarah Jordan.  I used West Yorkshire Spinners Signature ‘Sweet and Spice’ 4ply in Blueberry Bonbon, and West Yorkshire Spinners Signature ‘Birds’ 4ply in Peacock.  What dream yarns to knit with.  And they came beautifully wrapped from BritYarn – I will definitely be buying more things from them in the future.

image

Here is the finished shawl just off the needles…

image

…and here it is on the blocking boards.

image

I love the everything about this.  The stripes; the lace border; the picot edge and of course the stunning effect of the two yarns together.

It makes a huge different when one blocks a knitted item.  One knitter once told me that she never bothers to block anything.  Well that’s her choice, of course.  But in my experience, having gone to all that effort to knit the item in the first place, it is nice to finish it off and get the best out of it with a good block.

There is a lot on the web about the theraputic economy benefits of knitting.  I could not agree more that this is a wonderful hobby for relieving stress.  And when you get the right combination of pattern and yarn, there is no better way to spend one’s time. 🙂

31 thoughts on “Knitting Joy

  1. It’s beautiful, love the colours! 😊

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! And thanks also for checking out my blog – it’s great to have your input 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It looks lovely, Liz. May ask you about the wool again in about two years when I have finished my cardigan! X

    Liked by 2 people

  3. A lovely creation! The colours sing of spring!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! Yes, they are inspiring, aren’t they 🙂

      Like

  4. It’s truly stunning! What a dynamic colour combo! You’re right about the pattern, the yarns and the details. But you put it all together so beautifully.

    I may cut the odd corner when knitting, but blocking is a step I always include! Especially for lace. You did a spectacular job.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Tracy. I’m so glad you like it, and agree on the blocking front!! 🙂

      Like

  5. It looks so gorgeous, colours like the sea, and so harmonious.

    Like

  6. Yet another “I love the colors!” comment. It’s beautiful. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! And thanks for checking out the blog 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Gorgeous, and even though I am not the knitter it still gives me pleasure! Will you, or another wear it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you like it, thanks! For once, I have knitted it for me and can’t wait to wear it!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Molly Hughes in her book writes of wearing a type of cross-over shawl instead of a coat; something like this I would think https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/87/6d/24/876d2433957018c949eecca457ace105.jpg She seemed to find it warm and comfortable. I wonder if I would. Would you?

        Like

      2. Hi Mandy, I was just looking at this blog – one of my favourite knitting designers – and it reminded me of your comment about cross-over shawls. I thought I had replied to it at the time, but I can’t see that I did – apologies for that. I might wear something along these lines, and in any event, I think it would be something really interesting to knit 🙂 https://katedaviesdesigns.com/2016/05/24/theme-and-variation/

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s beautiful. I didn’t know it was called a hap. I really think they would be practical.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I had not heard the term Hap before either. Kate Davies’ new book of haps looks fabulous just based on the first few pattern teasers. I am rapidly losing the strength to resist placing a pre-order!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. You are hapless in the face of haps…..:)

        Liked by 1 person

      6. ‘Tips done – I have just placed my order. Today’s bird-related pattern reveal finally did it for me!! https://katedaviesdesigns.com/2016/05/25/nut-hap/

        Liked by 1 person

      7. It’s utterly gorgeous. How could you resist!

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Indeed! So glad you approve 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Lovely knitted and those Spring colours. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Ute! 😀

      Like

  9. This is spectacular! I don’t knit so I am especially impressed at how well it turned out and the blocking seems absolutely necessary! You’ll get a lot of attention wearing that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Really glad that you like it 😀

      Like

  10. What a lovely shawl and beautiful yarn! I made a similar one a while back out of Noro yarn and it was such fun to knit and is such a great shape, i wear it a lot! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah – Noro is beautiful isn’t it. I can imagine how lovely your shawl must be. Thank you so much for your kind comments on mine 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close