Is there any greater pleasure in life than the acquisition of new stationery?

I have written previously about my love of pens and pencils. Today, I was able to add some more to my collection.

And not just any old pencils – oh no. After much deliberation, I finally decided to treat myself to a set of Blackwing pencils.

image

Described by some as the world’s finest pencils, I wondered just how good they could be. I must admit that I was swayed by the production of a limited edition set, designed in the style used by John Steinbeck when he used to write. What’s not to like, I thought, and took the plunge.

My only regret is that I did not get these sooner.

When you take the box out of its sleeve, you get the satisfaction of lifting the lid to reveal a slip detailing the history behind the production of the pencils. And then, drum roll, underneath the slip, are the pencils themselves. Oh, what beauties! I could look at them in their box as they are and not touch them at all. But taking one out, I knew I had to sharpen it and give it a try.

A special pencil needs a special sharpener. This one lets you sharpen the wood first and then the lead to get the optimum point. Bliss!

image

And as for the writing experience? Heavenly. No other word for it. I can’t imagine that Steinbeck would have had any complaints. I certainly don’t. šŸ˜€

image

 

