One of the Royal Botanic Garden's vistas
One of the Royal Botanic Garden’s vistas

Edinburgh has been blessed with the most glorious of weather today.  Clear blue skies, beautiful sunshine and no breeze to take the edge off the warmth of the temperature.  Perfect!

I was lucky to have the time this morning to make the most of this gorgeous day, so I took myself off to Edinburgh’s Royal Botanic Gardens.  It is a while since I was last there and oh how glad I was to get there today.

The Garden’s extensive rhododendron collection is displaying in all its glory. Many of the shrubs are already fully out, with plenty of buds still to bloom.  You can read more details about these lovely species here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wandering around the Garden was such a joy. At every turn, there were more blooms to delight.

Here are some close-ups for you:

At this time of year, there are also fabulous vibrant colours in the foliage, as the new leaves come out, plus stunning acid-bright flowers on other shrubs and trees:

And it is always nice to look back up to the city, with views of Arthur’s Seat, Edinburgh castle, and the city skyline generally.

The birds were thoroughly enjoying the warm weather and the lovely Gardens too. As I walked around, I could hear robins, thrushes, blackbirds, chaffinches, greenfinches, wrens and my favourite woodland bird, the chiffchaff. This link gives you some more information about this cheeky bird, plus an audio clip of its iconic song.

We are very lucky to have such a beautiful space to enjoy. 😀

 

 

