Guest Friday Quote

Hi everyone, I am delighted to be able to hand over the posting reins to a dear friend, another Liz, today.  Enjoy reading and have a great weekend! 🙂

Someone recently posted this short poem of Robert Frost’s on Twitter:

IMG_6800

I’d not come across it before, but to me it captures exactly that moment of grace when the natural world breaks through the private fug we all sometimes walk round in. It’s also about mindfulness, and how a trivial event utterly external to our own worries or regrets can restore a sense of proportion. I also love it because it it is so beautifully expressed. You can see him trudging along, head bent, then shuddering as some snow inches down his collar, and looking up; opening his eyes wide, smiling, and walking on at a slightly faster pace, head high.

I copied the poem to Liz and thanks very much for suggesting I do a guest blog about it, Liz!

7 thoughts on “Guest Friday Quote

  1. This is my all time favourite poem! We studied Frost for O Level and I loved him but this was the one that has always stuck in my mind. For exactly the reasons you have put so beautifully Liz 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you like it. Thanks very much for visiting the blog! 😀

      Like

  2. Thank you Jo! How great that you knew it already! It’s amazing how O level texts do stick around. I first read To Kill A Mockingbird because it was my sister’s set book & she wanted me to test her on it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I do think Frost had an amazing way of capturing these everyday moments and helping us see why they matter so!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. helen marshall April 2, 2016 — 7:33 pm

    Thank you- I have never seen this poem and it is lovely.The crow is my favourite bird.xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for the comment Kerrycan. Doesn’t he just! It makes me want to go and look out much more of his work.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for your comment Helen! The crow also adds a lot when I visualise the poem, in black and white with snow, tree trunk ( whatever a hemlock tree may look like……) and the bird.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close