A Room of One’s Own

“There is no gate, no lock, no bolt that you can set upon the freedom of my mind.”
― Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

Guess what this is:

image

Yes, it is the new desk for my new girl-cave, or ‘the buttery’ as it seems to be starting to be called (see my previous posts here and here, plus the comments).

It arrived this afternoon, and Hub heroically set about building it immediately after coming home from work.  It was impressively packed.  I love the engineering and design behind this sort of thing:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happily for Hub (and me!) it all went together easily.  Here is the base completed, in situ:

image

And here, drumroll, is the whole thing completed:

image

Excitingly, as you might have noticed from one of the earlier pictures, the desk can be used flat, or tilted.  And the mechanism to support the side drawers has been designed very cleverly to keep them horizontal, regardless of the slope of the surface. Cunning!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have been sitting in my room to write this post, with some beautiful music playing in preparation for my next LeapingTracks post, enjoying my lovely new space.  The world now truly is my lobster! 🙂

Ps:  I should mention that the chair you can see at the desk is temporary – I am not exactly sure yet what sort of seating I should get:  traditional office chair; kneeling stool etc.  So I am going to live with the space and the furniture for a while and see what seems best. Any ideas, recommendations, thoughts gratefully received.

 

11 thoughts on “A Room of One’s Own

  1. Looks great. You’ll be able to make, think, write all sorts of things there. Enjoy!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is brilliant! wow! Great desk and fits so perfectly!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I was thinking of Virginia Woolf’s essay when I read your last post and went to see if I could find it in my bookshelves; I couldn’t. The desk looks absolutely ideal – so useful.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ah – a great excuse to go out and buy another copy. This seems to me something essential to have in one’s collection. Glad you like the desk 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I think I must get another copy – I can’t think what has happened to the book.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. I love the positioning! You are going to have so much fun at this desk in the coming months. I am so happy for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes I can’t wait to spend lots of time here 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Most excellent. This room was destined for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close