“Necessity is…

….the mother of invention”. – Plato

It’s great when truisms really are true, isn’t it.

I remember a time, nearly 20 years ago now, when Hub and I moved into a particular flat in London.  After a while, we realised that we needed to sort out one drawer in a dresser.  Cutting a long story short, we ended up re-organising the entire front room, including not only sorting the dresser drawers, but moving the whole dresser to a different location.

These days, whenever we start to speak about changing something, we say ‘this is not a dresser drawer moment, is it?’.

Why am I rambling on about this?  I have spent this evening unexpectedly re-vamping my other blog, LeapingTracks.  I hadn’t planned to.  I didn’t even mean to.  I was sort of forced in to it.

Well, that last bit isn’t quite true.  No-one forced me.  But I reached a tipping point and I thought I might as well carry on.

You see, on the dresser drawer principle, I decided to add some text to the LeapingTracks home page to bring it up to date a little.  I started that blog nearly four years ago and I figured that it could do with some more recent news.  Unfortunately, when I tried to make the edits, I somehow deleted all the text on the home page – arrrggghhhh!

So I had to re-write completely a new home page.  I thought, well, if I am doing that, I should probably update my ‘about’ page.  So I added some text to that too.  As I was working on all of this I was thinking that maybe the whole look of the blog was a little tired and could do with a bit of a spruce-up.  It was four years old, after all….

As we all know, WordPress makes it very easy for us to play around with themes, styles etc.  Why not have a little look at a change of clothes for LT?  I tried a few sets on for size and decided to go all dramatic.

For those of you who saw the site in its old garb, you will see a big difference!  A bit like the time I went from having long-ish dark brown hair to very close-cropped, bleach-blonde hair only days before attending a friend’s wedding.  Dramatic was indeed the word.

I’m going to live with it for a while and see how it grows on me.  I’m not sure if I have quite got used to it yet, but, like hair, I can always change it again if need be.  Meanwhile, I think I will avoid opening any drawers for a while. 🙂

6 thoughts on ““Necessity is…

  1. Most of my clearing out jobs and big tidys start with a small insignificant little job that just snowballs and explodes. The housework’s version of the ‘wafer-thin mint’. My husband cannot understand how I do it as he always just does the small job and leaves the rest alone!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I love the analogy of the wafter thin mint – perfect!! And bravo your husband – how I wish I was like him sometimes!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do too sometimes – life would be far simpler and I’d have much more free time.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is one reason why I try to do as little tidying up as possible, preferring to live in chaos as it has character. I have often thought about changing my template as well but I am picky and the ones that I like are all white and I would hate to not be able to have the snow on my blog come winter time.

    Like

    1. I can certainly see the merits of your approach. I can also see the challenges of having snow against a white background! Oh, the trials and tribulations we bloggers face – people on the outside don’t know the half of it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Before I came here I was over at Leaping Tracks…….what a surprise to find everything all changed. It looks good. When I have recovered from the surprise I will go back and read your latest post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close