Baking, warts and all…

First off, if ever there was a title that needed its punctuation, it’s the one for this post! If you don’t know what I mean, just contemplate what I might have been be writing about if I had missed out the comma….!!

Anyway, that’s enough grammatical ticklings for one night.  Today my apron has been all a-frenzy in the kitchen in preparation for a visit by my lovely knitting friends tomorrow.  We have not seen each other since before Christmas and I can’t wait to catch up with them.  Unfortunately one of our number can’t make it – it is always so difficult to find a slot when we are all free.  We decided to carry on anyway on this occasion and will look forward very much to being all together hopefully very soon.

There is nothing much that goes better with some knitting and nattering than cake.  So I thought I had better rise to the challenge and make sure I could put out a good spread.  First up to be made was Gallivanta’s recommended glazed orange coconut cake – yum! The perfect excuse to buy a new bundt tin, by the way.  I thought she had mentioned to me that she had concerns about the rather large quantities of rising agent, which I could see seemed quite a lot. So I went all gung-ho and substituted plain flour for self-raising flour, halving the quantities of rising agents. You can see that my cake certainly got going with its rising!!

image

Now I’m the kind of cook/baker that likes to potter around, and get right through a recipe before I wash up.  Once the cake, or whatever I am making, is in the oven, I set about clearing the decks.  This drives Hub crazy because he is a wash-up-as-he-goes-along cook.  I can just imagine him cringing when he sees this next photo:

image

But it is the work of mere moments to get to this stage…..

image

And to have the kitchen looking like this:

image

I find it very satisfying to do everything in one go and see the fruits of one’s labours.

So, back to the baking. It is always nice to offer one’s guests a choice, isn’t it. So I also made a coffee and walnut traybake:

image

And finally, some orange chocolate ‘bites’.  I think these were supposed to be dainty morsels, but as you can see, mine came out more like cookies!

image

Here we have, as the grand finale, all three together, with the coffee and walnut cake iced and decorated, ready to be cut in to squares, and the bundt cake covered, waiting to be iced in the morning.  I forgot to take a photo of it before I covered it up, sorry!

image

I will report in due course on how all these goodies are received by my lovely ladies. 😀

12 thoughts on “Baking, warts and all…

  1. They all look delicious! Are you friends going to have to choose or is there enough for a sliver of everything each ? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, there’ll be tons of everything! And plenty left over for Steve 😀🍰🍪🍩

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Yum is an understatement!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You are going to have a wonderful time! Love catching up over a delicious repast!!❤️💛❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks fabulous. Glad I gave you an excuse for a bundt pan! And I am impressed by the kitchen clean-up; looks around guiltily at the lunch dishes decorating the bench and sink. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m with you – I can’t concentrate on the recipe if I’m washing-up as well. I do have one recipe I use which entails at least one, if not two lots of washing-up during the preparation but that is a really complicated baked cheesecake. I just don’t have enough utensils. Your baking looks yummy! I hope you enjoy yourself tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Clare. And that cheesecake sounds like a nightmare – it must really be worth it in the end!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oooohhhhh (drools)! That does indeed look good. Have firmly bookmarked it, thanks. I like the look of the other recipes below it on the page too… 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have a Philly cookbook and have tried out lots of their recipes. All good so far 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close