More Knitting Love

Some unexpected joy arrived through the letterbox this morning. I saw a thick brown envelope on the mat and initially was troubled.  Pleasant things do not usually arrive in brown envelopes, in my experience.  Imagine my delight, therefore, when I opened it, to find the latest edition of Designer Knitting Magazine winking up at me from inside:

image

Oh happy day!

I resisted the temptation to flick through it there and then. I was about to head out to a meeting and did not have time to give the magazine my proper attention.  No! I thought – wait until you can come home and savour it properly.

I am so glad I did. This evening, I have been able to read every page carefully, oohing and ahing over new yarns, new books, new notions and of course new patterns.

Here’s a sample of some of the treasures I discovered:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I am really hoping that I can use some of the yarn from my stash for some of these patterns.  As I have written previously, I am trying to not to buy any new yarn this year; well at least not until I have made a decent dent in the supplies I already have.  We shall see.

But whatever happens, I definitely need to have a go at the delicious-looking cover pattern.

image

Not only does it look super-cosy; perfect for our chilly Scottish climate. But the fringe is achieved using ‘steeking’ – a scary technique which involves cutting through one’s beautiful knitting.  I have yet to try this and am always keen to learn new things, so it seems to me the perfect excuse to get stuck in. And yes, if I have to buy suitable yarn for it, then I will just have to force myself…. 😉

10 thoughts on “More Knitting Love

  1. It probably will be very hard to force yourself…… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks soooooo cosy!!!! Steeking looks scary, we will be cheering all the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! That spurs me on!! 😀

      Like

  3. I had to look up steeking to discover what it was. My goodness! I see that extra stitches are made so that they can be cut through and then the edges have to be crocheted or sewn down to stop them unravelling! I’m not too good at jobs like that so my edges would probably still unravel!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it is a voyage of discovery. From everything I can gather, including reassurances from knitting friends, it is much better/easier than it sounds on paper….. 😱

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Do you know The Twisted Yarn blog? http://thetwistedyarn.com/2016/02/12/knitting-and-the-creative-art-of-parking/?replytocom=10454#respond Twisted is very funny but also a very skilled knitter. I remember her post on ‘steeking’.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for highlighting this brilliant blog. I think I had heard of her, but have not (until now) followed her. The post on steeking is particularly good, isn’t it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, even for a non-knitter like me!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close