So many books…..

I know that I am not alone in having extremely long lists of books that I plan to read some day.  I also have various teetering piles of actual and virtual books ready and waiting to tackle.

But there are always more books to salivate over, aren’t there.  Ever more ‘you must read these’ articles and lists in circulation.  Oh no!  It is so hard to put one’s head down and crack on with the books one already owns.

Unfortunately, this post is no exception.  I spotted this article on ‘must read’ books due to be published in February.

book-composite

Often with such lists, there might be a selection of interest, with others that one can disregard.  This seems to be a complete nightmare, however – every single one on the list looks fabulous.  Sigh.

enhanced-30979-1454205220-1

This list is a bit different, I’m pleased to say.  Not only have I already read some of its books; there is the added interest of the reasons why the books changed the contributors’ lives.

What do you think about book lists.  Do you like or loathe them?  Are they helpful to you? 🙂

7 thoughts on “So many books…..

  1. I haven’t made up my mind about lists. I know that they have been chosen with care, but like you, I want to add them on to already over-burgeoning lists that I have already made up. I still haven’t made my list for this year and here it is February. The best part is that there are so many books – we will never ever, ever, ever run out of lists. Happy Reading…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not sure about lists. I am okay with ‘these are the books published this month’ type lists. They are informative and I don’t feel I am being pressurized. However, the ‘you must read these before you die’ type lists I find irritating. There is often a smugness about them – a condescending, patronising tone to them which I find slightly repellent. They lure me in because I am naturally curious and want to know if my favourites are among the chosen few. I then find the lists are somewhat biased and subjective and this disappoints me. Choosing a book to read is like deciding what clothes to wear – it is a personal thing. We sometimes need guidance and that is where a good review comes into it’s own. I also find the ‘if you liked that book you’ll enjoy this’ questionable too. Perhaps I’m too picky? 😉
    I was interested by your second list because it is always good to find out why someone read a book and what they got out of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Excellent points, if I may say so! Thanks so much for always engaging so brilliantly with my posts – it is really appreciated 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re very welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I am happy enough with lists as information tools but I rarely read by them. Maybe that’s a reaction to required reading lists of old. I tend to be very spontaneous in my book choices.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that is a great way to be! And not just with reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close