liebster-award-2

My new blogging friend Ute has very kindly nominated my blog for the Liebster Award.  You can find her fabulous blog here.

If you are not familiar with the Liebster Award these are the ‘rules’:

Thank your nominator;
Show the award on your blog;
Answer 10 questions asked to you;
Ask 10 questions to up to 10 new nominees (who have less than 200 followers);
Notify them.

Here are my replies to the 10 questions from Ute:
How did you get into blogging?  I first started blogging in 2012, when I decided to write about the music I had stored on my iPhone and never listened to.  You can read more about this story here on my first blog, LeapingTracks.

How do you choose what to blog about?  I try to find subjects that are fun to write about, and which I think will be interesting and amusing to read about.  I have many hobbies, and am blessed with a rich life.  I enjoy the process of letting inspiration strike for the next post!

Do have a goal regarding blogging?  When I first started blogging with LeapingTracks, I used to write posts very frequently, but gradually life started to get in the way, and I fell out of the blogging habit, even though I loved doing it so much.  I also realised that I wanted to write about more than just music.  So the concept of LeapingLife was born.  I am using LeapingLife to motivate me to write more often on both blogs.  So far, I have managed to post every day on LeapingLife – I am not sure whether I will be able to keep up that momentum, we shall see.

How do you fit blogging into your daily routine?  I have found it extremely useful to develop a schedule/planner for blog posts, so that I can capture ideas as they occur to me.  It also helps me stay a few steps ahead in case I am too busy on any particular day to write a post.  Because I have been blogging for a few years now, I am able to write pretty quickly, once I know what I want to produce.  I also usually try to keep posts relatively short – both for my sake and the reader’s!

Do you learn through blogging?  Absolutely!  No question.  It is one of the things I love about the blogging process.  Even though I have had one blog for a while, setting up my second one has shown me all sorts of new technical and whizzy things, which is fabulous. And I really enjoy learning from other bloggers, either by looking at their sites, or reading their posts.

Which audience would you like to attract with your blog?  Because LeapingLife has a sort of ‘magazine’ approach, I hope it has a wide appeal.  I definitely hope that anyone would enjoy reading elements of it, if not all the posts.

What is your favourite TV Program?  I try not to watch too much TV.  But when I do, I like well-made dramas, such as the BBC’s current adaptation of War and Peace, or Scandinavian dramas like The Bridge.

What else do you do in your spare time?  Loads of things!!  Cooking and baking; knitting and crochet; reading; walking; enjoying life in Edinburgh & Scotland; listening to music; talking with family and friends….

How do you relax?  I have to remember actively to relax.  I meditate for deep relaxation.  For ‘hobby-relaxation’ knitting would be my go-to activity if I could only pick one thing.

What is your favourite food?  I like eating and cooking a very wide range of cuisines, but if I could choose only one, I think it would be something traditional and comforting like Cottage Pie, or a delicious roast meal.

 

To pass on this award, I nominate:

Disaster Dreaming

This Knitted Life

Sewniptuck

What Am I Gonna Do Today?

And the 10 questions I invite these bloggers to answer are:

  1. why do you blog?
  2. what is one thing we don’t know about you that we can’t tell from your blog?
  3. what has most surprised you about blogging?
  4. how would you describe blogging to an alien landing from another planet?
  5. what gifts do you give and receive through blogging?
  6. how does writing make you feel?
  7. what do you want to achieve with your blog?
  8. do you have a bucket list?  If so, what is on it?
  9. if you had to recommend one book to read and one film to watch, what would they be?
  10. what is your ‘mantra’ for life?

 

 

