“The man in the arena…”

Screen Shot 2016-01-25 at 14.42.27

I wrote a few days ago about the Brené Brown course I am taking.  The cornerstone of the whole thing is this famous quote from a speech by Theodore Roosevelt about the struggles by the ‘man in the arena’.

I love this poster by Gavin Aung Than, aka Zen Pencils, which sums up Brené’s passion and commitment to the cause of daring greatly.

You can see her original TED talk here, which was really the start of everything.

And check out this brilliant animated clip of Brené talking about empathy. Her expertise, humanity and humour come pouring through.

 

10 thoughts on ““The man in the arena…”

  1. I have always believed that fear in general is the greatest inhibitor to enjoying a fulfilling life. I am so proud of my two daughters who are tremendously caring, brave and striving individuals.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I only know one of them and she’s amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Thanks, mum – you inspire us ❤️

      Liked by 2 people

  2. this animated clip is brilliant.Thanks! I’ll have to check Brene Brown out more.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Let me know what you think when you do! 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  3. When I approach a difficult situation I ask myself, “what would I do if I weren’t afraid.” It changes my perspective, and gives me permission to look for a broader range of solutions. I agree with Joan, “fear in general is the greatest inhibitor….”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a great way of looking at things, Becky. I shall put that in my pocket for when I need it, if you don’t mind! ❤️

      Like

  4. I already have the Ted Talk bookmarked on my laptop as it is such an inspiring lecture. She talks of her struggles and her failures and we know she is telling the truth. We can empathise with her and then….. she points the way ahead! I love the animated clip.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close