I wrote last Saturday that Hub and I would be eating out to celebrate Burns Night yesterday (25 January).

We ate at one of our favourite Edinburgh restaurants – Howies.

IMG_1420

And, as predicted, we had the traditional supper of cullen skink, haggis neaps and tatties, and cranachan.  Although as you can see from the third picture, this was not just any cranachan, but a rather posh, deconstructed version – it was all absolutely delicious!

I must admit that the haggis dish was not the prettiest to capture, but I include it for completeness.  Also, I recognise that I need to get better at low-light photography – I am aware that these pictures are a bit grainy.  So onward with my photo-taking learning!!

You will notice the three whisky glasses on the table – Hub had the recommended ‘whisky flight’ with his meal (I don’t drink alcohol, which always seems a particular shame on these occasions!).

Here’s a closer look at his drinks, with some tasting notes.  The flash caught the title of the last whisky – it is Talisker storm.  He really enjoyed all three, but especially the Blair Atholl.

And finally, here are some shots of Edinburgh at night.  The statue is of King Charles II and dates to 1685.  It is one of the oldest lead statues in the UK and was restored in 2011.  In the background, you can see the bell tower of St Giles Cathedral, which is face on in the second photo.  The third photo is of a well in Edinburgh’s Grassmarket.  The fourth image is a rear view of Edinburgh Castle.

Again, I recognise that these photos are not the best quality ever.  I enjoyed taking them, though, and am looking forward to having another go at low-light photography some time, particularly given that Edinburgh has so many wonderful things to shoot! 🙂

