Knitting Love

As an avid knitter (and moderate crocheter), I am excited about a new ‘tool’ I recently acquired.

51rvie7yt8l-_sx381_bo1204203200_

I bought The Knitter’s Notebook at London’s Fashion and Textile Museum when I visited last year to see a wonderful exhibition about the work of renowned fashion designer, Arthur Liberty.

Here is a montage of some of the photos I took at the time (click on the image for a closer look).  It was brilliant to be able to snap away at all the fabulous prints and fabrics.

IMG_0191

Anyway, it has taken me a little while to engage with my new notebook, but oh my!  What a thing of beauty it is.  I originally thought you just recorded current and future projects.  But no!  You can do an inventory of all your knitting notions.  You can itemise your yarn stash.  You can sketch designs for future efforts.  You can record the vital statistics of people (and pets!) for whom you regularly knit.  There are some handy knitting tips and guidelines.  And they have even included an envelope at the back for notes, small needles etc.  Wow!

Knowing the size of my yarn stash, the number of projects I have at the moment, and thinking about all my needles and notions, filling this in will be some project in itself.  But I can see how useful it will be.  It is like the knitter’s version of cataloguing one’s library – I came across this link a few days ago and I could see the similarities.  Maybe that’s the next thing to add to the project list… 🙂

17 thoughts on “Knitting Love

  1. love the colours and the textures in the montage

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a wonderful way to remember and celebrate artistic endeavour. Brilliant!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you my dear friend! 😀❤️✨💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your montage! The exhibition looks fabulous too – I would have loved to have gone to it. I also like the idea of your Knitter’s Notebook. I am no longer a knitter but I am so nerdy that I’d willingly start again just to use the notebook. I also liked the link you found re. book cataloguing especially as it has images from ‘Black Books’, a favourite TV series. I have been toying with the idea of cataloguing my books for some time – a project idea that gets my pulse racing. My music also needs doing too – cross-referencing! Heaven!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. lol Clare! I am so glad this post appealed to you on so many levels!! 😀😀😀

      Liked by 1 person

    2. When you are finished, you’re welcome to do my books. The last time I catalogued my books I was 12. What fun I had.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. These are fun jobs to do when there are no other calls on our time. I also loved sorting out and cataloging when I was a girl. What a lot of free time and freedom I had then! I was very fortunate but had no idea how lucky I was at the time 😉

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Yes, I was allowed to spend the whole day reading if I wanted to. Luxury. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Just reading about the Knitter’s Notebook makes me feel tidy and efficient, and I am not even a knitter. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. So glad to bring these qualities to you! You can see why I HAD to buy a copy. I nearly bought 2…!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close