Yum!

In recent times, I have fallen back in love with cooking and baking.

I went through a period where I did neither.  In fact, I hardly stepped foot in our kitchen – this was either because I was unwell or because I was travelling a lot with work.  My husband was a total star, cooking us lovely meals and making sure we did not waste away, while also holding down a mega-busy job.

cookery books
‘Primary’ cookery library!

These days, my circumstances are different, and I am pleased to have time to return the complement by cooking him nice dinners and producing yummy baked goods.

I adore reading cook books and devilling out new recipes.  You can see the picture of my ‘primary’ cookery book library.  These are the books to which I turn most frequently, so they are kept nearest to the kitchen.  My ‘secondary’ library is elsewhere in our apartment.

One of the things I love about cooking and baking is the way you turn all this….

Ingredients
What shall I make?

…..into these yummy items:

Baked goods
Delicious!

Here you can see, on the left, breakfast bars, and on the right, chocolate and pistachio biscotti (I substituted chocolate chips for the cranberries in the recipe).

These should keep Hub going while I am away on my trip.  I shall look forward to finding the next batch of things to cook when I return.  One of my goals this year is to improve my icing skills – I have never used a piping bag, so watch this space…. 🙂

 

11 thoughts on “Yum!

  1. I’ve never tried to make biscotti, they look delicious (as do the breakfast bars!). I love baking and cooking as well (other than in the car, it’s the time when I listen to music).

    Sorry it took me so long to discover your new blog! Since returning from holiday, I’ve been working a lot so I can take a few days off when my new puppy arrives. I love that you have a new blog and that I can read more of your words!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks for the seal of approval! You must share some of your cooking & baking too!! Xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My last “out of the daily routine” cooking effort were the sugar and lime crepes I made for my father’s birthday two weeks ago. I have a crepe pan I brought with me from Paris- it makes the most delicious and thin crepes! My mouth is watering as I type this 🙂

        Liked by 3 people

      2. Ooohhh – yummilicious indeed!! 😀

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh, Liz – send some our way. I love biscotti. I read an article that said that the reason we love to watching cooking channels is because we know that one day we will return to the kitchen. Our lives are complex and busy – our eating habits have changed dramatically!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Such wise comments as ever! I think one of the things I love about cooking is the escape away from life’s complexities back to the fundamentals of feeding ourselves with good food 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am not in the mood for baking-cooking at the moment, but I love it when I am in the mood. Your goodies look wonderful. And you have lovely tins for your baking. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know from you posts what a wonderful cook you are when you get going. I am sure it will grab you again when the time is right. And yes, I do like those tins – I had fun arranging those photos to make them ‘just so’. I laughed at myself when I started getting too particular about the placing of the biscotti on the wire rack!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That is the artist at work! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I love to bake . . . but then we eat what I bake and, since there are just the two of us, the calories add up fast!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that is a bit of a hazard, isn’t it. But hey – life is for living (or leaping)! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close