IMG_1248

I am a big fan of the wonderful Brené Brown – she is a research professor leading on ‘vulnerability, courage, worthiness and shame’, as it states on her website.  But to write these words in this way is to do her a disservice.  It makes her work seem dry and dull, even though I am a fully paid-up subscriber to the importance of examining these issues.

The reality is quite the opposite.  One of her mantras is ‘the magic is in the mess’.  We are encouraged to stop trying to be perfect and just be ourselves – indeed to find ourselves in the first place.  And then to be brave in the face of failure because it is this process which makes us stronger.  Wow!

I have already taken Brené’s art-journalling course, based around her book The Gifts of Imperfection.  You can see that my copy is very well flagged! This was a brilliant journey through ‘the power of Wholehearted living’.

IMG_1247

I am in the next week or so about to embark on Brené’s next course, based on her subsequent two books, Daring Greatly and Rising Strong – it is called Living Brave  and will explore ‘what it means to fully show up in our lives’.  I can’t wait!

I am passionate about life-long learning and am always looking for interesting ways to develop.

As one of my dear friends, Clanmother, might say, “the only journey is the one within” (Rainer Maria Rilker).

